Anime Conventions: Surviving conventions when you’re broke.

Have you ever been to a convention with only a limited amount of money to spend for the whole day, but instead of taking it easy, you spend it all in one go and you end up with 0 money even though it’s only been an hour since you got to the event? If that ever happened to you, you were a lot like me.

I grew up with Asian parents and they don’t really give us allowances. So I had to save up all my lunch money so I’ll have something to use for the convention. I always end up saving 35 dollars or more every time.

When I attended my very first convention (Which was TagCom 2011) I was really amazed because it was really huge and there were a lot of booths, stores and the stage was pretty big too.

This is what the event looked like.

tagcom1
Photo was taken from: rebyulusyon.blogspot.com

 

I was 11 back then and I had no idea how to handle my money and all I could think of was buy,buy,buy and buy.(Admit it, we were all like that during our very first convention.)

 

It’s only been an hour since I got to convention and I already had no money left in my pocket, wallet or my bag. I had to call my sister because I could no longer afford to get a cab home.

Since then, I’ve tried doing some things to help me manage my money especially during conventions because I tend to spend it all in one go.

I’ve recently attended Ozine Fest: Figurine Special last Dec. 27, 2015 at Mega Mall.
I’ve tried these tips and they do work.

1. Plan out how you will spend the money you have.
This really works for me. I plan out my money before the actual event. I set out an exact amount that I should be spending for a certain thing, for example 2 dollars for snacks and food, 10 for figurines, 5 for booths, and stuff like that.

2.Know what you’re gonna buy before the convention.

You should know what you’re gonna buy and do before the convention so you can avoid spending money on things that wasn’t part of your budget. Always stick to your original plan.  We don’t want you to spend all your money at once just because you saw an overpriced tarpaulin of Hestia.

3. Just buy 1 merchandise each.
I know, most of us really buy all the things we want during conventions and after we do, We end up with 0 money in our pockets.  You don’t have to buy all the posters of all the characters of your favorite anime at once. You can just go buy 1 or 2 (as long as it goes by your budget. CONTROL YOURSELF. IT’S TEMPTING BUT YOU’RE GONNA REGRET IT IN THE END IF YOU DO. REMEMBER, YOU’RE BROKE. STICK WITH YOUR BUDGET, IT’S YOUR NEW CURRENT BEST FRIEND.

4. Take your time.
Don’t just buy all the merch you want in one place, believe me. There are conventions who sells the same merchandise but different prices.(And that happens a lot in conventions.) So, Take your time, maybe you can find the merch you want that has a more affordable price.

5. Don’t just go to the stores and booths.
You don’t want to spend all your money because you’re in a world filled of temptations, right? Conventions usually have events or programs. You can watch the band or the entertainment or socialize with the people. Take photos of the cosplayers, the displays or maybe talk to some people.
It’s free and for me, these are really the best parts of attending conventions. Seeing cosplayers, bands and meeting people who has the same interests as you.

At Ozine Fest: Figurine Special. They displayed a lot of lovely figurines. 
Here’s the photos of the figurines and some of the cosplayers.

 

6. Enjoy the Convention.

Even if you don’t have money. Don’t let it get in the way of you having. Socialize, Live in the moment, Watch the Cosplayers and the show.

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Leah says:

    Great post! I like the practical, methodical, detailed advice… and I promise never to spend all of my money on a single tarpaulin of Hestia (especially since I have no idea what it is!!). Seriously… this is an example of how good advice or good story telling can go beyond a very specific topic. Your points can all still relate to others (I, too, have had to call my sister to bail me out when I’ve spent all of my money on fun things). Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aya's Cave says:

      Thank You and I do hope that you don’t spend your money on a tarpaulin of Hestia and you use this tips in real life. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. wow great advice is that you ****** hahahaha

    Like

    1. Aya's Cave says:

      Thank You. Is that me what?

      Like

Leave a Reply

